The Geological Society Hjulström Award

We have the great honor to present this years Jubilee Fund awardee!

The Geological Society 2022 Hjulström Award within the area of sedimentology is awarded to Mark Johnson, docent and university lecturer at the Department of Earth Science, Gothenburg University.
Mark Johnson has worked extensively on sedimentology, geomorphology and on the formation of glacial deposits and history, as well as present-day glacial processes and varved sediments.

His sedimentological work is therefore fully in line with the original ideas and the spirit of Filip Hjulström on the uptake, transportation and deposition of sediments.

Mark is internationally renowned and a positive driving force within the Swedish geological community, not the least as a former President of the Geological Society.

The award ceremony will take place during the 150 years anniversary meeting in Uppsala 17-19 of August 2022.

150 years jubilee meeting!

We are happy and proud to invite all to our 150 years jubilee meeting to be held in Uppsala 17-19 of August 2022, to commemorate the first 150 years of the society!

We have also decided to arrange a field trip in connection to the meeting. The destination will be Bergslagen and the date the 20th of August, further details will follow.

More information and the third circular can be found here.

Årets Geolog Åke Johansson

This year’s “Årets Geolog” is Åke Johansson, geologist at the Swedish Museum of Natural History. The prize is awarded once every year by the Geosektionen, a professional association within Naturvetarna. The prize is awarded a person who has promoted the position of geology in the society.

– I feel very happy to get an award for what I do. Now I have to digest this, says Åke.

Read more

Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Baskerville 2 by Anders Noren.

Up ↑