Programme and sessions

Programme

August 17 – Icebreaker at 18.00, Norrlands nation
August 18 – Meeting 08.30–17.30, conference dinner at 19.00, Norrlands nation
August 19 – Meeting 08.30–17.30, meeting ends

General sessions

1) 3 billion years of geological evolution – the build-up of Sweden
(invited presentations only)
This session addresses the geological evolution of Sweden from the Archaean through the Proterozoic and Phanerozoic to the present. Contributions that deal with various aspects of the building of the country with focus on tectonic processes are welcome. Contributions addressing the biotic evolution during the Phanerozoic in the context of the closure of the Iapetus Ocean and the break-up of the supercontinent Pangaea, impact cratering and Quaternary glaciations, which have largely shaped the land as we know it today, are also welcome. We will organize this session as a series of talks that takes us firstly from the earliest evolution in the Archaean through orogenic and rifting events during the Proterozoic, when the major part of the Swedish land mass and its resources were formed. The session will continue by providing the broad picture through the Phanerozoic, including orogenic and rifting events, the diversification of life, changing climates and extinctions.
Session Chairs: Åke Johansson (ake.johansson@nrm.se), Vivi Vajda (vivi.vajda@nrm.se), Michael Stephens (michael@stephens.se)

2) Geology and society
In this session we welcome papers that address earth science contributions to societal challenges. The Geological Society firmly believes that geoscience is a vital part of a sustainable society. We seek contributions that discusses earth science as part of a solution for a sustainable development. We especially welcome contributions in relation to the United nations sustainable development goals and the role of geosciences.
Session Chairs: Katarina Persson Nilsson (katarina.nilsson@svemin.se), Pär Weihed (par.weihed@ltu.se)

3) Geoeducation
What is the shape of education in geosciences in Sweden today? Does Earth Science have the role it deserves based on the societal needs? Are we doing the right things at our Earth Science departments in Sweden and if not, what could improve and change? In a time when society is changing perhaps more rapidly than ever, are the forms of teaching right and are the pedagogic skills relevant? The fundamental lack of education in geology in primary school and high school, what are the consequences and how can we mitigate this lack?
Session Chairs: Anders Scherstén (anders.schersten@geol.lu.se), Magnus Hellqvist (gyttjelera@gmail.com), Emma Rehnström (emma.f.rehnstrom@gmail.com)

4) 150 years anniversary – the evolution of geoscience through time
In the early days of science, the disciplines were integrated and during the last 200–300 years the science evolved into separate disciplined like chemistry, physics, biology and geology. In this session we aim to shed light on this evolution within the framework of the birth of the Geological Society of Sweden (Geologiska Föreningen i Stockholm) 150 years ago until today.
Session Chairs: Jörgen Langhof (Jorgen.langhof@nrm.se)

Thematic sessions

The thematic sessions seek contributions within its field that are of general interest to the Swedish earth sciences community. These sessions are thus focussed on the advances of the research frontiers within each field of geosciences. Presentations can be of general interest as well as addressing Swedish case studies.

1) Applied geosciences
More information will follow.
Session Chairs: Fanny Hartvig (fanny.hartvig@sweco.se)

2) Economic geology
More information will follow.
Session Chairs: Erik Jonsson (erik.jonsson@sgu.se), Iain Pitcairn (iain.pitcairn@geo.su.se), Christina Wanhainen (christina.wanhainen@ltu.se)

3) Environmental geosciences
This session deals with environmental archaeology and environmental forensics. Environmental archaeology examines past environments, climates and human activity using a wide variety of proxy sources, ranging from fossil insects and plants to hyperspectral imaging and ancient DNA. Interpretation of on-site archaeological deposits are common, but the subject overlaps considerably with Quaternary geology and almost always encompasses a comparison of anthropogenic changes with the natural background.
Session Chairs: Lena Alakangas (lena.alakangas@ltu.se), Geoffrey Lemdahl (Geoffrey.lemdahl@lnu.se)

4) Hydrogeology
More information will follow.
Session Chairs: Roger Herbert (Roger.Herbert@geo.uu.se), Bo Olofsson (boolof@kth.se)

5) Geochemistry
More information will follow.
Session Chairs: Anna Ladenberger (anna.ladenberger@sgu.se), Anna Neubeck (anna.neubeck@geo.uu.se)

6) Geochronology and Isotope geology
More information will follow.
Session Chair: Renaud Merle (renaud.merle@geo.uu.se), Martin Whitehouse (martin.whitehouse@nrm.se)

7) Geophysics
More information will follow.
Session Chairs: Christopher Juhlin  (christopher.juhlin@geo.uu.se), Thorkild Mack Rasmussen (thorkild.maack.rasmussen@ltu.se), Lena Persson (lena.persson@sgu.se)

8) Marine geosciences
About 71 % of the Earth surface is covered by the world’s oceans and seas. Marine sediments, submarine landforms, and seafloor structures are the result of a wide range of processes within the ocean and seas, for example, biological activity, ocean currents, marine glacial activities, submarine mass wasting, and tectonics. Hence, these marine geological features are indicative of ongoing processes as well as comprising archives of the history of the oceans and seas. Geological sediments and landforms also form important environments or habitats for many life-forms in the oceans and seas and provides a range of valuable marine ecosystem services. In Sweden, the Albatross expedition 1947–1948 led by Hans Pettersson from the University of Gothenburg became an international milestone for the field of paleooceanography, where marine sediments are used to study the ocean history. Marine geophysics was established as a research area at Stockholm university shortly thereafter in the 1950s by Ivar Hessland. In this session we welcome papers on geoscientific research addressing scientific questions concerning the past, present and future of the marine environment. The session welcomes studies concerning the smallest of the marginal seas, such as the Baltic Sea, to the deepest parts of the world’s oceans. Papers may also include marine geological, geophysical, geobiological and geochemical methodological approaches to study the marine environment, including numerical modelling.
Session Chairs: Martin Jakobsson (martin.jakobsson@geo.su.se), Lovisa Zillén Snowball (Lovisa.zillen.snowball@sgu.se)

9) Sedimentology & Palaeontology
More information will follow.
Session Chairs: Lars Holmer (lars.holmer@pal.uu.se), Mikael Calner (mikael.calner@geol.lu.se)

10) Petrology & Mineralogy
This session embraces all aspects of modern mineralogical and petrological research, with emphasis on, but not limited to, Sweden and geologically related surrounding regions. Contributions with results from theoretical, experimental and applied directions of research in these fields are also welcome.
Session Chairs: Jenny Andersson (jenny.andersson@sgu.se), Ulf B. Andersson (ulf.b.andersson@lkab.com), Hannes Mattsson (hannes.mattsson@geo.uu.se), Dan Holtstam (dan.holtstam@nrm.se)

11) Quaternary geology
More information will follow.
Session Chairs: Mark Johnson (mark@gvc.gu.se), Ian Snowball (ian.snowball@geo.uu.se)

12) Structural geology & Tectonics
This session addresses research in structural geology and tectonics in Sweden, neighboring countries and related analogues from other parts of the world. Topics cover all scales from small-scale micro-structural features through outcrop-scale structural geology to regional-scale tectonics. We invite contributions from field based studies, laboratory experiments and modelling that cover basic structural geological research as well as applied structural geology and tectonics.
Session Chairs: Tobias Bauer (tobias.bauer@ltu.se), Karin Högdahl (karin.hogdahl@geo.uu.se), Stefan Luth (stefan.luth@sgu.se)

Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Baskerville 2 by Anders Noren.

Up ↑